Catholic Sabha Kallianpur Deanery felicitates Winners & Losers of Grama Panchayat elections

Udupi : Catholic Sabha of Kallianpur Deanery was felicitated winners as well as contesters’ of the recently held Village Panchayat elections on Sunday, 28th June at Milagres Sauhardha Bhavana, Kallianpur near here.

The program began with reading of the Holy Bible and beginning normal prayers as per Catholic Sabha by Rosy Baretto and Flavia D’Souza of Milagres Cathedral unit. As usual Hubert Lewis President of Catholic Sabha Kallianpur Deanery welcomed the gatherings. Very Rev Fr. Stany B. Lobo Rector the Cathedral and Spiritual Director, Rev Fr. Ferdinand Gonsalves Director of Laity Commission of Udupi Diocese, Spiritual Director of Catholic Sabha Diocese Central Committee, Parish Priest of Kemmannu Church and Principal of Milagres PU College, Valerian Fernandes Designated President of Catholic Sabha Diocese Central Committee, Kiran Elroy Crasta Director of Labour Commission Diocese of Udupi and former President of Catholic Sabha Central Committee, Jacintha Colaco Secretary of Catholic Sabha Kallianpur Deanery, Raymond Crasto Acting President of Catholic Sabha Milagres Unit and Boniface Mascarenhas Convener of Political Awareness were present on the dais.

Addressing during the occasion Very Rev Fr. Stany B. Lobo happy to note that this election the contesters’ increased which 48 Catholic candidates contested for the Village Panchayat elections in Kallianpur Deanery. He said Politics is the part of our life. We should actively participate in politics, so that our community will get the benefit in larger extent which earlier years not to be due to various reasons. We have to renew the atmosphere through service in Panchayat level. The mission of service to those needy has been started and we shall provide better services to the people.

Rev Fr. Ferdinand Gonsalves pointed out the services of Catholic Sabha through awareness on Politics and more over Catholic Sabha providing services in many other ways. Kiran Elroy Crasto and Valerian Fernandes also spoke during the occasion.

Out of 48 Catholic contenders contested in the panchayat elections, 24 catholic contenders won in Kallianpur Deanery level which record winners in the deanery.

The winners as well as contesters’ were felicitated during the occasion with shawl and flower by dignitaries of the dais. Among winners Meena Pinto of Mount Rosary and Dolphy D’Lima expressed their feelings on election during the occasion.


Jacintha Colaco proposed vote of thanks. Steevan Prakash Lewis and Luke D’Souza compered the programme. 

News published on: 2015-07-09