Prajoth DSa of Santhekatte B ward of Milagres Cathedral nominated for Best male Singer

Mangalore : Prajoth D’Sa of Kallianpur, Kishore Gonsalves of Barkur among others who  has been nominated for 5thGlobal Konkani  Music Awards – 2012 which Mand Sobhann on Friday November 29 annouced the top three nominees in six categories for its annual Global Konkani Music awards during the press meet at Mangalore.

Mand sobhann Gurkar Eric Ozario said during the press meet that the awards will be conferred during the 5th Global Konkani Music Awards ceremony to be held at Kallangann on Sunday, 8th November at 6pm.


Umashree, state minister for Kannada and culture will be the chief guest. Cecille Rodrigues from Goa, of Zee TV ’DID Supermom’ fame, will be the special guest. MLA J R Lobo will be the guest of honour.

The panel of jury comprised Joel Pereira, Walter Nandalike, Melwin Peris, Fr Jayaprakash D’Souza and Joy Fernandes, he said.

From among the numerous applications/nominations received from all over the world, the judges shortlisted the top three nominees in the following categories:

Best Singer Female-2012: Lorna (Goa), Mumbai; Preema D’Souza (Mangalore), Dubai; and Anita D’Souza, Mangalore

Best Singer Male-2012: Prajoth D’Sa, Kallianpur; Fr Ben Britto, Mangalore; and Lawry Travasso, Goa

Best Music Composer-2012: Elick Vaz, Goa; Ajith Peter D’Souza (Udupi), UAE; Sidhanath Buyao (Goa), Mumbai

Best Lyricist-2012: Kishore Gonsalves (Barkur), Abu Dhabi; Wilson Sequeira, Kateel; Sanjay Borkar, Goa

Best Music Arranger-2012:  Cajetan Dias (Honnavar), Bangalore; Darrel Mascarenhas (Puttur), USA; Roshan D’Souza, Angelore

Best Music Album-2012: Evershine Creations (Album: Thembe Thembe), Fr Victor Machado (Album: Anjam Kor); Ajith Peter D’Souza (Album: Tujye Vengent)

All the top three nominees of all 6 categories will be honoured on December 8. The awards will carry a cash prize of Rs 25,000 and a memento.

Nephie Rod from Mumbai will enthrall the gathering with a live performance, accompanied by Nach Sobhann with their scintillating dances.  Entry to this event is free.

The event will be compered by Lavita Lobo and Nagendra Shenoy

Mandd president Louis Pinto, secretary Irine Rebello, coordinator Stany Alvares, and PRO Arun Raj Rodrigues were present.

News published on: 2013-11-30